All my thoughts collated from the e-mail I received…

Last week, I received an email declaring that if Diversity Hub doesn’t receive sufficient funds by May they will have to close down. All in all, this is the most heart-breaking news because Diversity Hub has given me, my community, Leicester, my friends, my family so much. I just cannot image Diversity Hub not existing anymore.

Since I was introduced to Diversity Hub during my time at college, I attended their anti-bullying workshops which I appreciated because they taught me the essence of the mind behind the bully and the person being bullied. Furthermore, during my university study, I enhanced my skills by leading Diversity Hub implemented-workshops and working with young children, parents and moody/hormonal teenagers (I had always dreaded the latter ones!) All my workshops went well and participants as well as, us, as the deliverers, always received and learnt so much simultaneously. The workshops really took me out of my comfort zone because I hated being at the forefront doing majority of the talking but soon I learnt to slowly enjoy it (really bizarre!).

I am thoroughly aware that Bill, Margaret and Ian (and I – when I was there) have tried immensely in filling applications and applying for differentiated pots of money. It has been a tough journey. I remember at the time when I was volunteering for Diversity Hub and one of my application’s had been rejected. I did fully feel awful but nevertheless I informed Margaret that it is important that we complain about being rejected but WE must continue to search for funders and apply. This was because if we sulked regarding an application it would have hindered us from moving on to another application. Doing this transition was extremely important as was never giving up. This was good leadership because I was being a good ally to my colleagues and trying to demonstrate good leadership which was effective because Margaret always informed me that I was very positive in the aftermath of a rejection because I was motivated to move on to the next.

 

With everything positive Diversity Hub has done for us, it deserves to be open! For the young people, for the adults, for the old, for the young, for the rich, for the poor, for all those that Diversity Hub has given to, for all those that Diversity Hub has made a difference to…Diversity Hub deserves to continue to exist!

 

I wish Diversity Hub all the best in securing funds for a brighter future ahead.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment